Kristin Hannah

Kristin Hannah is known for her emotionally-complex and heart wrenching stories about love, family, motherhood, loss, and redemption. Her novels are filled with life, love, hope and forgiveness. To read her work is to know you are in the hands of a wise and gentle soul.

In a highly entertaining style, Ms. Hannah explores the relationships that make us who we are whether it is sibling, spouse, child or friend. At times, she will even contrast what it means to sacrifice, compromise, betray, forgive and reconcile, all the things that make us human. She is an extraordinarily gifted writer with a knack for touching the heart.

In the video below, Kristin Hannah discusses her novel Night Road.

Kristin Hannah was born in Southern California and spent her early years at the beach. When she was eight, the family moved to Washington. Apparently with an early ambition to be a writer, Ms. Hannah managed to find her way into advertising and then law, but her mother reminded her that she was destined to be a writer. In fact, her first attempt at a novel was a collaborative effort between her and her mother. A book Ms. Hannah describes on her website as “…the worst, most clichéd historical romance ever written.”

Years later, she rewrote the story while she was on bed rest and pregnant with her first child. The book was rejected by agents, but fortunately for us readers, the experience rekindled her passion of writing and she kept trying.

Kristin Hannah

 

Photo Credit: Riccardo Palazzani, Sources: kristinhannah.comWikipedia

Gary C. Horton

A former intelligence officer and newspaper columnist, Gary C. Horton grew up in South Carolina where his ancestors settled along the coast in the early 1700’s. His love story Some Glad Morning has been compared to Charles Frazier’s Cold Mountain and Olive Ann Burns Cold Sassy Tree.

In the video below, Gary C. Horton reads the opening chapter of his novel Some Glad Morning.

Erich Segal

In addition to writing bestselling novels, Erich Segal was a screenwriter and a Classics Professor at Harvard, Yale and Princeton. He is best-known for writing the bestselling novel Love Story, the story of a Harvard-Radcliffe romance, which also became a wildly successful movie nominated for 7 Academy Awards. Segal won a Golden Globe for his screenplay. Ruth Baron, of Oprah.com, has designated Love Story as among the top 8 love stories of all time.

Below is a video of Erich Segal speaking at UCLA in the spring of 1971. In this video we get to see his warm personality and learn some of the insider details of Love Story.

Jodi Picoult

Jodi Picoult’s novels fuse the complex drama of personal relationships with legal and medical entanglements. Her novel Handle With Care is a good example of her work. It’s about a family trying to deal with a daughter’s rare bone disease.

Jodi Picoult, wrote her first story when she was five and called it “The Lobster Which Misunderstood.” She has gone on to become a bestselling author of 21 novels which include the following: Songs of the Humpback Whale (1992), Harvesting the Heart (1994), Picture Perfect (1995), Mercy (1996), The Pact (1998), Keeping Faith (1999), Plain Truth (2000), Salem Falls (2001), Perfect Match (2002), Second Glance (2003), My Sister’s Keeper (2004), Vanishing Acts (2005), The Tenth Circle (2006) Nineteen Minutes (2007), Change of Heart (2008), Handle With Care (2009), House Rules (2010), and Sing You Home (2011), Lone Wolf (2012) and the YA novel Between the Lines (2012) co-written with her daughter Samantha. Her novels consistently climb to number one on the New York Times bestseller list.

In the video below, Jodi Picoult talks about her novel The Storyteller set in the concentration camps of World War II.

James Patterson

James Patterson is a publishing juggernaut, an industry all to himself. Best known for his novels featuring the protagonist Alex Cross of the Alex Cross series. Patterson, along with a stable of co-authors, produces the Michael Bennett, Women’s Murder Club, Maximum Ride, Daniel X, and Witch and Wizard series, plus a wide range of stand-alone thrillers, non-fiction books, children’s books and romance novels. All totaled, his books have sold over 300 million copies around the world.

Below is a wonderful video of James Patterson talking about his stories. He speaks to aspiring writers, his readers and shares much of his wisdom.